News, Press & Videos

Filter by Artist

_back to previous page

Vipoo Srivilasa creates a shrine-like sanctuary to house five contemporary deities

Samantha Littley
28 March 2011

Srivilasa  has created a reflective, shrine-like space for APT10 that houses five secular deities representing attributes important to him — love equality, spirituality, security, identity, and creativity — and asks visitors to join him in celebrating them. Through the work, Srivilasa venerates memories of his Thai homeland, acknowledges what his relocation to Australia has meant to him, and encourages viewers to appreciate both our differences and our commonalities.

_continue reading
_view online (external link)

José Luis Puche, a path drawn in pencil from Malaga to Sydney

Andalusian Stories

José Luis, born in Malaga, Andalusia, has shown his works in New York, Sydney and Dubai.

_view online (external link)

Related exhibition: Jose Luis Puche 'The Legacy of Water'

Congratulations Tim Olsen

Waverley Council (Nib awards)
24 November 2021

Congratulations to Tim Olsen winner of the 2021 Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize and Nib People's Choice Prize for his memoir Son of the Brush.


The Nib People's Choice Prize ($2,500) is awarded by popular vote. Congratulations to Tim Olsen, one of Australia's most recognised and respected art identities, successful gallery owner and now, prize winning author.  Tim Olsen is the son of arguably Australia's greatest living artist, John Olsen. Son of the Brush is his fascinating, candid memoir of what it was like to grow up in the shadow of artistic genius, with all its wonder, excitement and bitter disappointments.

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award presented by Waverley Council with support from Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran, and community partners Gertrude & Alice Bookstore Cafe, celebrates excellence in research and writing in Australia. 

_view online (external link)

2021 NIB Literary Awards

24 November 2021

The Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is presented annually by Waverley Council with support from Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran. Celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2021, the Nib remains Australia's only major literary award of its kind presented by a local council. Judging criteria includes high literary merit, quality of research, readability and value to the community.

Waverley Council is delighted to announce the winners of the 2021 Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award ($20,000), Luke Stegemann, and Nib People’s Choice Prize ($2,500), Tim Olsen.

_view online (external link)